Known yoga with its unknown types

Yoga has gained popularity in every era of life. A practice which if performed with soul and mind in unity leads to ignite our body. Innumerable asanas with different breathtaking techniques and a dozen of mudaras make it a great exercise for building our true strength. Yoga sets our inner fluctuating mind into a peaceful state where one learns the importance of breathing.

Have you ever noticed how your breath intake changes with your different moods of anger, stress, happiness or satisfaction. Yoga fixes your breathing technique into a perfect order. Also have you ever wondered what the types of yoga are? Is it all complex or an easy topic to go through?

We at All about Seniors are here to help you acknowledge the important fact of Yoga i.e. types of yoga.

Different branches of Yoga

Taking the oldest book of Indian mythology, Bhagavat Gita in consideration we get to know about types of yoga. Some of our chapters in Gita are dedicated to traditional yoga practice. It introduces three significant types of yoga.

  • Karma Yoga : yoga of action
  • Bhakti Yoga: yoga of devotion
  • Jnana Yoga :  yoga of knowledge

Karma Yoga 

It is one of the paths to salvation where one superior duty is to give superior stand to karma i.e action. Rightful actions which should be done avoiding the results and with no attachment with the fruit that may entail. 

In Bhagavat Gita , the karma yoga process is explained by the verses of Lord Krishna. A dialogue takes place with him and his friend Arjuna. Prince Arjuna got engulfed by sorrow and misgivings regarding the oncoming battles in which he has friends and relatives on both sides.

Krishna preaches ” one should consider his karma to be his duty without getting attached to the fruits it will bestow. ”

Bhakti Yoga

Yoga which is all about giving your mind , soul in the thoughts of the prime superior god. It focuses on our loving devotion towards any personal diety. It is also called Bhakti Marg .

Bhakti is derived from the word “Bhaj” which means” divide, share, participate , to belong to “.

Jnana Yoga

Yoga of knowledge i.e Jnana yoga. It is one of the three classified paths ( margas ) for moksha  ( liberation) . The path of yoga is also called the path of self-realization.

Hinduism considers it one of the paths to attain liberty within oneself and worldly desires. Many of its explanations are given in “BhagavadGita” and Upanishads.

So these are the main traditional descriptions for yoga which is practiced by many at their own level. Yoga for mental health and physical health is a part of the bigger eco system which assists in unity mind , body and soul leading to better living.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *